Welcome to the 16th Judicial Circuit Court's Website  
Monroe County, Florida  

Welcome to the 16th Judicial Circuit Court's Website
Picture of the Freeman Justice Center

The mission of the Florida judicial branch is to protect rights and liberties, uphold and interpret the law, and provide for the peaceful resolution of disputes.

Monroe County was established in 1823 at which time it occupied most of the southern Florida peninsula. It has since been reduced to the Florida Keys and portions of Everglades National Park. It was named for President James Monroe. The county seat is in Key West. Florida is divided into twenty Judicial Circuits, or areas of jurisdiction, each of which is composed of Circuit and County courts. Together with the five District Courts of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Florida, they constitute the Florida State Courts System.

The Sixteenth Judicial Circuit has three locations. The Freeman Justice Center located in Key West, the Marathon Branch Courthouse located in Marathon and the Upper Keys Government Center in Tavernier.



Old Key West Courthouse Pictures